I had a plan for a new years day post but because I'm a complete wimp and put off starting this for a good couple of weeks so it never came to be. However, I think it's still can be applied to today, or just this first month of the year in general.
So it's the time of the year where everyone starts to bombard your facebook with posts about 'the new me' or writes about their new years resolutions or new fitness plans and well you get the idea, people writing about all the things they want to do to improve their lives. And then it's the time of year where the other half of your facebook uses their posts to moan about all the people who are posting about their new starts because they believe it's rubbish or just that it's all over their timelines.
What I want to ask is, what is the problem with using a fresh start?
I know that I am a sucker for new years resolutions and new beginnings and all that jazz. I make up a million resolutions I know I'll never keep but still end up weeping by the beginning of February due to the fact i'm a massive failure. Yet I still do it every year and see no problem in others trying to do the same.
What is wrong with people wanting to better themselves? What is wrong with people choosing to leave the last year behind them because it happened to be a sucky one? What is wrong with using the new year as a chance to work on themselves? Every year can be a new start, heck every day can be a new start if we need it to, maybe every hour!
If people are doing something to try to improve their lives then we should be encouraging them, not dismissing them! Even if they're like me and end up failing within the first week, at least they're trying. Anyone who wants to better their lives and their world is a winner in my book. Please stop bashing on them.
Yes it's annoying when people spam all over your facebook, and maybe there is something to be said about people having realistic aims of things they want to accomplish for the new year, but what's the point in moaning about it? It only creates negativity. People are going to spam your profile all the time, especially now we're a generation of people who get new star wars films (mate never thought I'd get to be a part of that excitement, the last film came out when I was 11). There are always going to be topics that end up being mentioned on every single post one day while you're scrolling through your homepage, so please stop being so negative about it, especially if it's ones where we're trying to make the world a better place, even if it's just starting with ourselves. Thank you :)
(Love you guys, hope this post didn't end up being a negative post about people being negative, that would be super ironic, which would be funny but would kinda miss the point huh?)
No comments:
Post a Comment